Exceptions to the PAIS Tax on the Purchase of Foreign Currency for Imports of Certain Goods Related to Energy Generation.

Legal News - August 11, 2023

On this date, the Energy Secretariat of the Ministry of Economy has published Resolution No. 671/2023 (hereinafter referred to as “Resolution 671”), which establishes an exemption from the payment of the PAIS Tax for the foreign currency purchase transactions carried out by residents in the country, specifically for the importation of certain goods related to energy generation. These goods are:

a. Goods included in the tariff headings of the Mercosur Common Nomenclature (NCM, by its acronym in Spanish) 2701.12.00 (bituminous coal), 2710.19.22 (fuel oil), 2711.11.00 (liquefied natural gas), 2711.21.00 (gaseous state natural gas), and 2716.00.00 (electricity); and

b. Goods intended for the construction and commissioning of the President Néstor Kirchner Gas Pipeline, for the reversion of the Northern Gas Pipeline and related works, as well as the components of the “Transport.Ar Producción Nacional” Gas Pipeline System Program.

Regarding the latter category, in order to qualify for the exemption, a sworn statement in the terms specified by the attached form of Resolution 671 must be submitted to both the Customs Office and the authorized financial or exchange entity (i.e., the entity designated by the importer for the importation monitoring) when accessing the Free Exchange Market (MLC, by its acronym in Spanish).

Resolution 671 is effective as of the date of publication.

You may access the complete Resolution 671 through the following link:


For any questions or inquiries, please contact:

Liban Angel Kusaliban.kusa@bruchoufunes.com

Nicolas Nogueira Castellininicolas.nogueira.castellini@bruchoufunes.com

Antu Aguilarantu.aguilar@bruchoufunes.com

Luciana Rodríguezluciana.rodriguez@bruchoufunes.com

Juan Salvador Mayedonchijuan.mayedonchi@bruchoufunes.com

Ezequiel Lipovetzkyezequiel.lipovetzky@bruchoufunes.com

Pablo Martin Muirpablo.muir@bruchoufunes.com

Daniela Reydaniela.rey@bruchoufunes.com

Maximiliano Yudica Bartelsmaximiliano.yudica.bartels@bruchoufunes.com

Eduardo R. Malleaeduardo.mallea@bruchoufunes.com

María Laura Bacigalupomaria.laura.bacigalupo@bruchoufunes.com